Welcome to our mess…

Standard

If you haven’t already noticed from my posts, my life is a bit busy and somewhat chaotic at times.  Okay, well most of the time.  I spend 99% of my time doing something.  Whether that’s creating a project with my kids, playing a game, running errands in town or planning my next Girl Scout meeting, I am consistently busy.  I rarely have downtime and when I do have a few moments, I like to spend them with my family.  I love being a Mom.  It’s truly the best thing I’ve ever done in my life.  With all this chaos in my world, there are definitely things that slip through the cracks and even those I intentionally put off.  In particular, I push aside my housework.

When you enter my house you won’t see an immaculate sitting room.  You won’t see granite counter tops or gorgeous tile flooring.  You won’t see expensive vases or sculptures.  I don’t have paintings worth more than my life savings on the wall.  What you will see is a lovely home.  You will see my son’s snow boots kicked to the side of the door, as if he ran right out of them.  My daughter has likely tossed her winter coat over the back of the couch and dropped her school bag on the floor.  My dining table is cluttered with markers, crayons and construction paper.  My walls hold pieces of art that are priceless only to me.  The counter tops in my kitchen inevitably have remnants of jelly toast or peanut butter sandwiches.  My floors?  My floors are strewn with toys.  If you’re not careful you may step on a Lego.

You will see my home. You will see where my children play, create and use their imaginations.  You may even be lucky enough to see one of Ms. Lulu’s science experiments in progress.  You will see where my son learns his alphabet and numbers.  You will see where they sing and dance.  You will see the blankets they use when they curl up and read their books.  Is my house a spotless showroom?  Nope.  Not at all.  In fact, I couldn’t tell you the last time I cleared off the computer desk.  However, it is a home.  It is a place where my kids can just be kids.  They can let their imaginations roam and create pieces of art.  They can ice cupcakes without fear of a mess on the floor.  They can leave a science experiment on the counter for four days hoping they grow diamonds.

Is my home a complete disaster?  Of course not.  It’s a clean and tidy home for my family.  I just don’t come home every day and spend hour upon hour cleaning.  I refuse to spend the short time I have in the evenings cleaning up the chaos.  I would much rather teach my daughter to play Yahtzee or try to out roar my son who seems to think he’s a dinosaur this week.  I want my kids to remember spending time together.  I want them to grow up and look forward to teaching their kids what happens when you mix vinegar and baking soda.  I don’t want them to be so concerned about the mess that they miss these fun moments.  I don’t want to be so caught up in cleaning and organizing that I miss these moments.  I refuse to worry about cleaning up the mess while they are small and still full of wonder.  The mess will be there tomorrow.  I can always clean it then.  My children will only be children once and I will miss that when it’s gone.  I certainly won’t trade that for a spotless home.

Leave a Reply

