Solid… like a cement wall

Standard
Solid… like a cement wall

Today is my 8th wedding anniversary and sadly, due to work I’m spending it without my husband.  He’s been sent to Arkansas for the week.  It is kind of annoying that his travel fell on this week specifically, but at the same time neither of us are the hopeless romantic type so I’m okay with it.  We’ve never had any major plans on our anniversary, especially after having kids.  Both of us work full-time jobs and have a very hard time sacrificing “family” time for “us” time.  So while I’m sad to be celebrating alone tonight, I also look forward to his return and our family celebration dinner this weekend.

As I think about our relationship, I can’t help but laugh.  We truly are a case of opposites attract.  He likes Chinese food, I prefer Mexican.  I love hard rock and heavy metal, he likes pop and country.  I am consistently cold and he’s always overly warm.  How we ended up together and stayed together, I will never know.  🙂 Especially when he’s made comments like these:

  • Before we were married ~ “Honey, you’re not fragile like a flower, but solid… like a cement wall.”
  • One night back in college, he and his friends had a bit much to drink.  We’d all gone out for dinner to a Chinese food buffet and about midway through he decides to start calling people names.  He’s calling this guy ‘CRISPY’… in a not so quiet voice.   Needless to say, I left him there with his friends.
  • About six years after we were married – “So, at my next wedding…”
  • More recently, just to drive me crazy – “So I dropped your toothbrush in the toilet…”

Sometimes I wonder if he just spouts these things off to see my reaction.  More often than not I’m left speechless and highly entertained.  Other times, like the “Crispy” incident, I’m rather annoyed.  However, no matter how obnoxious he gets, he’s always there to deal with my crazy.

If you’ve read my about page, you know that my neurosis has gotten increasingly bad over the years.  When my husband and I first started dating it wasn’t nearly as evident.  As time went by he witnessed the increasing severity and STILL married me.  🙂 I quite honestly don’t know what I would do without him.  He deals with me locking the door four times before bed, double checking the closet for any intruders and my ever changing storm of emotions.  I can’t thank him enough for dealing with the mess that I can be sometimes.  He does his best to keep me balanced and when things end up tipping, he’s there to help even me out again.

I can’t say our relationship is perfect, but who can?  We have our flaws and our battles… it wouldn’t be a marriage if we didn’t.  But we love each other dearly and as long as he’s willing to:

  • Protect me from the closet monster on the way to the bathroom at four in the morning – without making a single comment…
  • Replace my toothbrush every time it comes in contact with anything other than my mouth…
  • Check on the kids twenty times each night…
  • Keep the house stocked with hand sanitizer…
  • Ignore my crazy comments about him ‘only washing his clothes’…
  • Bring me coffee when I’m having a shitty morning…
  • Not discuss credit card charges at 5:00 AM…
  • Help me with my baking projects when I’ve taken on too much yet again…
  • Protect me from the horrible nightmares that make me cry in my sleep…
  • Take the kids to the fair so I can avoid the germs and creepy people…
  • Never… ever buy a bird… or bring one near me… like ever…
  • Help me find the things I misplace and obsess over until they are found…
  • Check under the bed for gremlins…

I think I’ll keep him.

Happy Anniversary Dear Husband.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

