Happy 2013!!

Standard

Wow… it’s 2013 already.  I can’t believe how quickly time passes.  I know I say that a lot, but it has been especially evident these past several months.  I haven’t even sat down to read or write since April.  I read snippets here and there, but I have yet to read a full book.  It’s just been crazy.  Between school and work and Girl Scouts and who knows what else, I feel like I’ve been running non-stop for months.

Now with the New Year comes the whole process of creating New Year’s resolutions.  I’ve never been big on that idea.  It seems like most people set these goals just because ‘it’s that time of year’.  If I set a goal, I want it to be something I truly wish to achieve and am willing to put forth the effort.  I am not one to set an expectation of myself and only attempt half assedly (yes I think I just made that word up).  I can’t honestly tell you a time I’ve made New Year’s resolutions.  It’s always just seemed kind of pointless to me, until this year.

I have come to realize that my life has been so busy, I’m missing out on some things I truly love.  That’s not acceptable.  I miss being able to sit down and read a book.  I miss my blog postings.  I also miss just being able to relax.  It seems like in the midst of chaos I’ve lost track of the things I truly enjoy.  Therefore, my new year’s resolution is to do something I love at least once a week.  Whether that is writing, reading, hanging out with my family… Just something.  I think we often get lost in our day-to-day lives that we miss out on the things we once enjoyed.  I know I have and as a result it makes me a very grumpy person.  I’m hoping that by taking some time each week to focus on the things I love, I’ll be able to avoid the terrible mood swings.  I’m sure my family would appreciate it too…

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and New Year holiday.  I know I’m looking forward to what 2013 will bring.

One response »

  1. Pingback: So it’s 2013… a quick break from poetry!Let’s chat… « Real Echos's Blog

Leave a Reply

