This is what happens…

Standard

This is what happens when I’m making dinner and read a headline mentioning Twilight and smut in the same sentence…

I admit it, I have been totally sucked in by Twilight.  Back in 2008, not too long before the first movie released, a friend of mine brought the book to me.  She told me ‘You’ve gotta read this!  Even the ladies at Church are reading it during services!’  I figured, what the heck… I’ll give it a shot.  It took me less than 24 hours to finish the first book.  I finished the entire series in about five days.  I loved the story.  Sure it was a young adult series, but it was highly entertaining.

As it got closer to the movie release, a few of us got together to plan the night out.  We ended up with a large group of friends who attended the opening of the Twilight movie.  We even put together small favor bags including glitter.  The movie was iffy at best, but the company was amazing.  It was a blast hanging with my friends and all of us laughing at ourselves for becoming so addicted to Twilight.

For Breaking Dawn Part 1, my husband rented out an entire movie theater for a private showing.  Yep, one of the best anniversary presents ever.  We attended the opening with 30 friends and family members.  It was an experience for sure.  So much fun.  We made jokes and laughed throughout the movie.  We had enough fun that we’re going to do it again for the last movie.

Overall, my friends and I know it’s silly but we have fun with it.  The one thing we  have all said was that it would have been better had it not been a YA novel, but rather an adult fiction.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying it should have been an erotica novel – that’s something totally different.  But the story would have been interesting from an adult point of view, one lacking all the high school crap.  So of course when I read the headline mention Twilight and smut… I had to check it out.  Next time, I just need to make sure I’m not cooking dinner…

One response »

Leave a Reply

